January: The ‘hole’ ukulele

January’s uke was done pretty quick. Here is the ‘hole’ ukulele.

DSCF6771DSCF6772

DSCF6775  DSCF6773 DSCF6774

So January’s ukelele’s namesake is ‘hole.’ As you can see, this ukulele is riddled with holes. The idea came from me imagining holes instead of fret markers and took off from there. The namesake is a pun as well on ‘whole.’ I guess this uke shares a lot with me, it’s so crammed with deafults and imperfections, it reminds me of myself a lot. A little too much in fact. I think everyone has a hole in their lives, and at the moment, I have a lot.

The build process is pretty much the same as the ‘death’ uke but without the use of a ruler. I recommend a ruler.

DSCF6750 DSCF6751

Originally, I wanted some sort of fibonacci sequence with the holes. It was too hard.

DSCF6752 DSCF6753 DSCF6754 DSCF6755

This was funny. The neck was not level. Hence, the weights on that pivot point. I would later find out that the neck wasn’t straight either…

DSCF6756 DSCF6757 DSCF6758

Sawed the neck off and glued it back on. This is pretty much Victor’s ‘creature.’

DSCF6759 DSCF6760

Fret board glued on piror to neck. Why, because I wasn’t confident in gluing the neck straight.DSCF6761 DSCF6762

This was supposed to be grey, or a light grey. The wood stain was a bit too strong.

DSCF6763 DSCF6764

DSCF6768

A coat of white stain worked well. The colour scheme I’m using is from a webtoon. Wonder if anyone knows it? DSCF6769 DSCF6770

That’s that. I’ll probably update with a design for February. I have something in mind so we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

