May 10: The ‘heartfelt’ & ‘heart-broken’ ukulele

May’s ukulele, or should I say ukuleles, has been finished.

DSCF7721DSCF7722

The twins are the two sides of May for me. They represent something I can’t avoid.

DSCF7726 DSCF7725 DSCF7724 DSCF7723

May’s namesakes come from the dreadful month of May, where I see off students who have changed me, and have made me a better person. I’m sure it’s suppose to be the other way round, but I’m not exactly a brilliant adult.

The ‘heartfelt’ uke is the older sibling of the twins, and is based on curves and represents the feelings of gratitude to my students. The ‘heart-broken’ uke is the younger of the twins, and represents the taboo feeling a teacher has, the fact that they do not want their students to leave. I based this on trapeziums, and gave it a yellow splash to highlight the helpless directionless rage I’m feeling now.

DSCF7728 DSCF7727       DSCF7718

Here are some comparisons to different things. The first is a bugs-gear ukulele. The next is a bananna. The other is a ruler. Both the twins are 9 inches long, and they both have a 7 inch scale too. They’re not the world’s smallest, but they’re still pretty tiny. I’d like to thank ProfChris and other on ukuleleunderground, and to Daniel from circuitsandstrings, whose design I’ve been using since the very beginning.

DSCF7717

We’ve reached the half way mark now. From December to May, I’ve built 7 ukes now. The ‘bonsai’ uke is missing from the photo as it’s in my classroom now. The next design is still floating in my head, but at some point I will be building a tahitian ukulele. I’ve fallen in love with it. I hope you’ve enjoyed the journey so far, and I hope also that you continue this with me to the end.

Leave a Reply

