Side project: The Spectrum

So, though I’ve stopped work on the uke a month project for work, I still found myself building one.

I’m calling this uke the (absorption) Spectrum.

DSCF7784

The aim of the Spectrum was supposed to be an easy design that could be built in about 3 hours.

The whole concept was for the uke to be like a solid body, but with a hollow body. Right, so a normal uke then? Sounds kind of obvious, but I lack a better description than that.

DSCF7748 DSCF7749

Above you can see what I mean. I hollowed out the body with a router (but this took ages. Longer than my time frame.) The headstock was also part of the body, but I cut a little notch on the reverse before tilting the head back and gluing it.

DSCF7759 DSCF7760 DSCF7761 DSCF7762 DSCF7763

Once I was ‘happy’ I glued the back to the front, and it was basically done.

DSCF7766 DSCF7767

I drilled out holes for the machine heads, glued on the bridge and fretboard, both of which are rosewood, and got it ready for a paint job.

DSCF7768 DSCF7769

Went with black, as I had an idea in mind. This is why it’s called the Spectrum.

DSCF7771 DSCF7781 DSCF7782

Rainbow frets! I love it!

DSCF7785 DSCF7786 DSCF7787 DSCF7788

Here it is stringed with some temporary strings. I have low g on all my ukes, but this one is going out to a friend, so I’ll swap them out to standard tuning.

I loved the design so much, I made a shirt as well!

DSCF7790 DSCF7789

That’s how sad I am! Anyway, it was a god idea, but I can make it better. Please look forward to an improved Spectrum in the future.

Here is a video that I did as a sound test. It is loud! Well, compared to the other ukes I’ve made.

Now, let’s actually do some work, and of course, get June’s ukulele sorted.

One thought on “Side project: The Spectrum

Leave a Reply

