August: End of summer

Hello, it’s certainly been a while. I am glad to say July’s and August’s ukuleles are done.

July’s namesake is ‘parallel.’ July is a time when I step from my work life to, well, my own life. It is literally like a parallel world for me. Due to work, I am constantly out of a social life, but when the summer comes I have nothing but no social lide :S

IMG_0582

The purple half is a concert ukulele with machine heads, along with Worth low g strings. The green half is a soprano, tuned by zither pins, and equipped with Aquila standard tuning strings. We have two very different ukuleles, a very parallel world situation here.

I wanted to think of this uke as the best of both worlds

IMG_0587 IMG_0586 IMG_0585 IMG_0584 IMG_0583

August’s namesake is ‘mega.’ It is homage to one of my favourite games, and to the long lazt summer days as a child, when I would play the games. It was almost called the ‘rock’ ukulele.

IMG_0588

Here you can see the front panel with some sprites engarved in.

IMG_0589

The headstock has the much needed E tank.

IMG_0590 IMG_0591

The back panel features boss characters from the games.

IMG_0592 IMG_0593

I am quite happy with what I learnt from these two ukes. These were actually prototypes for a laser cut ukulele, that turned out so well because of these two ukes, and what I learnt from them. Here is that laser cut ukulele.

IMG_0566

From now on, I will be leaving the woodwork out, and be designing my ukuleles purely from the laser cutter. I think it is the way forward for my designs. Now to think about September’s ukulele!

Leave a Reply

