Half term projects: Old and New

Half term is here, and I have time to play around again. I have had these tonewoods for a while now, begging to be made into an uke. Unfortunately, they’ll have to wait a little longer as I need to buy a bending iron. That’s an expensive tool that I should probably have to justify, seeing as this is a hobby. Bah, I’m going to buy it anyway.

IMG_1618

At the same time, I’m still continuing with the laser cut ukes I’ve been making. This one will probably not see much action as I am going to break it. For science. I wanted to know how much force these things could withstand after a friend said their’s broke. I have a gut feeling it was because of the direction of the grain as it was a solid wood, so it shouldn’t affect my laser cut ones, but I am still curious. I’m a little attached to all my ukes (total understatement) so it’ll be sad when it does fufill its duty…

IMG_1625

And yes, my desk top is dirty. Heck, there’s even a bloody tissue there! What can I say? I bleed a lot apparently.

Leave a Reply

