Side project 8: Ocalele of Time

So, been meaning to make this for a while. Wasn’t sure whether to do the shield or this, but I guess I ended up making this one. Here is an ukulele based on the ocarina of time. If you don’t know what that is, I think you should reconsider whether you’ve been living your life well enough up to this point.

IMG_0796  IMG_0795

So, the whole thing was pretty much up to scratch when I finished at the laser cutter at Nottinghack. There’s a lot of rough work needed, but it hasn’t changed much from what you see above. Below is after the first sanding with 45 grit? I don’t know, but it was nice and easy as it was rounded with no edges.

IMG_0798

The paint job took a whole day. This is the only part of the build process I haven’t managed to shorten. I decided not to rush it like usual, so the paint and varnish had a whole day to itself to sort itself out. Turned out to settle a lot nicer than my other ukes. Don’t rush a good thing, right?

IMG_0801 IMG_0802 IMG_0800

And what a nice thing it turned out to be! I was worried because my varnish started spitting from the spray can, but it smoothed out nicely. The first photo below is day time, and I was just testing the tuners. The others are at night, and the blue looks darker than in real life.

IMG_0804 IMG_0805 IMG_0806 IMG_0807 IMG_0808 IMG_0809 IMG_0810 IMG_0811 IMG_0812

I am sure you’re all expecting a video of me playing zelda songs on this, so here it is:

2 thoughts on “Side project 8: Ocalele of Time

    1. Hi, I can do custom orders, and you could also buy a uke, it depends which one though. You should also know I am in the UK, so the shipping will be expensive!

Leave a comment